The Awards Ceremony

The Dunfermline Press Community Champion Awards 2024 will take place on Thursday, June 13, 2024 at the Glen Pavilion. Tickets are now available to attend.

The evening includes a sparkling drinks reception, three-course meal, entertainment from local talent and the awards presentation. The event will be hosted by Bryan Burnett.


Thursday, April 11


Thursday, June 13, 2024




Glen Pavilion, Dunfermline

How to Enter

It is quick and easy to nominate a group/individual for a Dunfermline Press Community Champion Award. Once you have decided on a category from the above list, you will need to fill in our entry form. The form is just a few simple questions to give us an idea of why your nominee deserves to win.

You can submit the form online by clicking the ‘Enter Now’ button below or via the Dunfermline Press website.

If you have any questions regarding the entry process or require the entry form in a different format, please see the FAQ section below or get in touch via the details at the bottom of this page.


2024 Categories


Celebrates a person or a business that has demonstrated a special entrepreneurial flair, and has used this passion to help grow their local community.


Everyone remembers their favourite teacher. This award recognises teachers who are bringing learning to life by engaging and inspiring all children and young people to fulfil their potential.


Rewarding a local individual, 18 years and upwards, or a group, who goes out of their way to help those around them. Someone whose actions are a force for good in the community and who we all benefit from making our community a better place.

HEART OF GOLD – sponsored by Fife Council

This award goes to someone who has made a contribution of outstanding significance to Dunfermline and West Fife. We will be recognising an adult whose actions, achievements, courage or bravery have touched the lives of others and made a difference. Someone special who truly has a heart of gold.


When it comes to charity, Dunfermline and West Fife are as big-hearted as you can get. This award is for an individual or a group who have dedicated their energy into making a real difference.

SPORTING CHAMPION OF THE YEAR – Sponsored by Arnold Clark

For a local individual, team or club that is making an impact in the local sport, either on the pitch or off it. Who is the beating heart of local sport?


Recognises young people who have succeeded in starting a business, creating benefits for themselves and for their communities. This award celebrates the work accomplished by a young person (Under 25) or group demonstrating good business skills.

YOUTH COMMUNITY CHAMPION – Sponsored by Stagecoach

We are looking for a group of young people or an individual between the ages of 13-18 who makes a significant contribution to their local community. They may have fundraised, campaigned on issues which are important to young people or helped others less fortunate. We know kids sometimes get a bad reputation. Tell us now about the kids whose heart is in the right place.


To recognise an outstanding child up to and including age 12 whose achievements, courage or bravery make your heart burst with pride.


This award will go to a local singer, band or group who put their heart and soul into every performance, whose talent makes us all extremely proud. Our finalists will have the opportunity to perform live at the awards gala.


The Health & Care Award will recognise the incredible health and care workers both at individual and team level, who are at the heart of our local community.

2023 Finalists and Winners

Champion Teacher of the Year

  • Jemma Thomas, Crossgates Primary School – Winner
  • Amanda McLuckie, Octotots
  • Lisa Gibson, Studio X
  • Jen Turner, Studio X

Little Champion of the Year

  • Liam Taylor – Winner
  • Lola Stevenson – Winner
  • Jamie Tierney – Winner
  • Freddie Settle – Winner
  • Luca Kobelt – Winner

Sporting Champion of the Year

  • Kimberley Fraser Inverkeithing United 2014s
  • Billy Bunyan
  • Dunfermline RFC U-15
  • Niamh Mitchell – Winner
  • Valleyfield Football Club

Youth Community Champion – Sponsored by Stagecoach

  • St Columba’s High School Young Enterprise
  • Saline Primary School Young Enterprise
  • Dunfermline Police Scotland Youth Volunteers – Winner

Health & Care Award – new for 2023

  • Jamie Hinley
  • Caroline Norris
  • Pierette Melville
  • Saline First Responders
  • Andy’s Man Club, Kenny Armour & James Scade – Winner
  • Bandrum Nursing Home Staff Team

Young Enterprise Champion of the Year – Sponsored by Technip FC

  • Jamie Stewart
  • Louis King
  • Boards for Bairns – Winner

Entrepreneurial Award

  • Dhoom
  • Estia Soaps
  • Adele Johnson
  • Kalopsia Collective
  • Robyn Drummond Fitness – Winner

Charity Champion of the Year

  • Roseann Haig, Circle of Comfort – Commendation
  • Rachel Brown
  • Dave Roper – Winner
  • Vivian Maeda
  • James Fox

Live Music Award

  • Noah Brotherton – Commendation
  • Moonlight Zoo
  • Kirsten Adamson – Winner
  • Eve Hind Davidson

Community Champion of the Year – Sponsored by Bandrum Nursing Home

  • Peacocks in Pittencrieff Park, Peacock Sanctuary – Winner
  • Andrew Dunlop
  • Warm & Welcome, Vine Church
  • Sarah Yorke
  • Kirsty Baird
  • Martin McNair

Heart of Gold – sponsored by Fife Council

  • Billy Reekie – Winner
  • Wendy Page
  • Nicole Settle
  • Derek Davidson
  • Revive Salon

Judge’s Award

  • Outwith Festival

Special Recognition – Services to the Community

  • Sarah Yorke


How do I enter?

You must complete our entry form to submit a nomination. Head to the ‘How to Enter’ section above for instructions or click ‘Enter Now’.

What is the deadline for entries?

The entry deadline is Thursday, April 11

How much does it cost?

It is free to enter the awards and all finalists will receive one free ticket to attend the ceremony themselves (or two free tickets for themselves and a guardian if aged under 16).

Additional tickets to join the finalists are the event are available to buy now.

Adults – £62

Children – £31

When will the winners be announced?

The winners will be announced at our glittering awards ceremony on Thursday, June 13, 2024 at Glen Pavilion. More information on the event and tickets can be found in the ‘The Awards Ceremony’ section above.