Press awards finalists revealed

IT’S just four weeks until the Press celebrates the ordinary people doing extraordinary things in the West Fife community at our 2019 Community Champions Awards in the Glen Pavilion on June 14.

Earlier this month, our judging panel comprising Press editor Simon Harris; Fife Council’s community manager, City of Dunfermline, Gillian Taylor; Suzy Lynch, PR and marketing executive, for Canvas Holidays; Graham Allison, site leader at Amazon Dunfermline Fulfilment Centre; and Cat Cockburn, of Fife Voluntary Action, met to discuss the 112 entries we have received across the 10 categories of the awards.

Today, we can announce the finalists for this year’s awards and Press editor Simon, who chaired the panel, said: “This is the fifth year we have held these awards and judging the nominations, while incredibly tough, was an absolute privilege.

“I want the Press to champion our communities and I know that, from the finalists we have chosen, we are in for a very special evening on June 14 that will be a celebration of all the positives that make West Fife the place it is.”

Fife Council’s community manager, City of Dunfermline, Gillian Taylor, said: “It was a pleasure to be part of the judging panel for the Dunfermline Press Community Champion Awards 2019. I was absolutely blown away by the volume and quality of the nominations. There are so many inspiring people and groups making a real difference in their communities. All the nominations had an outstanding story to tell and it was really difficult to decide on only one winner for each category. I felt very privileged to read about the variety of great community work going on and look forward to the award ceremony in June.”

Suzy Lynch, PR and marketing executive, for Canvas Holidays, award sponsors for the Little Champion of the Year category, said: “I found it incredibly humbling and inspiring to review all the applications for the various reward categories for 2019. Credit due to all those who nominated and who were nominated for awards this year. It’s truly heart-warming to know there are so many shining stars in the local community doing good deeds and providing valuable services across the region. Well done Dunfermline Press for hosting this event to acknowledge all these wonderful people and community groups.”

Graham Allison, site leader at Amazon Dunfermline Fulfilment Centre, said: “It was totally uplifting learning about many of the incredible people working selflessly every day for the community in Fife. There were some tough discussions at the judging panel to decide the finalists and a big shout out to those who took the time to nominate in their community.”

Cat Cockburn, Fife Voluntary Action, said: “Again it has been an honour and a pleasure to represent Fife Voluntary Action as one of the judges at the Dunfermline Press Community Champion Awards. This is a task that never gets any easier but is always humbling and reminds me of what amazing individuals and groups we have residing within Dunfermline and West Fife. I am looking forward to having the opportunity to celebrate with all involved – both award winners as well as nominees.”

The 2019 Press Community Champions Awards finalists are:

Entrepreneurial Award – sponsored by Oliver and Robb Architects

  • Cameron Young Magic
  • Flower Pixies
  • Happy Earth Place
  • Rush Dance Wear

Champion Teacher of the Year

  • Gordon Williamson
  • Lorraine Taggart Bristow

Community Champion of the Year

  • EATS Rosyth
  • Pierette Melville
  • Queen Margaret Hospital Hospice Garden Group
  • William Rutherford

Heart of Gold – sponsored by Amazon

  • Anne Morton
  • Bobby Thornton
  • Pierette Melville
  • Vi Penman

Charity Champion of the Year

  • Contact the Elderly volunteers
  • EATS Rosyth
  • Fife Housing Association
  • Lorna Ward
  • Nordoff Robbins
  • Queen Margaret Hospice Garden Group

Sporting Champion of the Year

  • Cara Smyth
  • Craig James Morgan
  • Dunfermline Rugby Club Under 13s
  • Kelty Hearts Community Club and Craig Reynolds
  • Michael Mellon

Young Enterprise Champion – sponsored by TechnipFMC

  • Liam Nardone
  • Soapy Pawz

Youth Community Champion – sponsored by Fife Council

  • Caelyn Fraser
  • Morgan MacGregor
  • Pizza Night Teens at EATS Rosyth
  • St Columba’s High S6 students

Little Champion of the Year – sponsored by Canvas Holidays

  • Alfie Thomson
  • Cameron Urquhart
  • Charlotte and Michael Gartshore

Live Music Award

  • Between the Lines
  • Foreignfox
  • Steve James
  • The Sunset Spirit