Last updated: 14th June

    Good evening! Welcome to the live coverage of this year’s Dunfermline Press Community Champion Awards 2019.

We’re just wrapping up here tonight.

Well done to all of our finalists and our winners. A proud night for Dunfermline and West Fife.


It’s time for our final award of the evening here at the Dunfermline Press Community Champion Awards 2019, it’s the Lifetime Achievement Award.


The Lifetime Achievement Award goes to Raymond Fernie!

Countless pupils credit Raymond Fernie as pivotal in achieving their dream jobs through his work setting up an employability initiative at Lochgelly High School and then in his role as Developing the Young Workforce (DYW) manager at Fife Council.

The 58-year-old former dockyard worker lost his eight-year battle with prostate cancer on March 1.


We now move on to the penultimate award, which is our Judges Award.

The judges thought long and hard about this one and taking the Judges Award this evening is the Dunfermline Rugby Club under 13’s!

Congratulations to all!



We are now on to Heart of Gold sponsored by @AmazonUK

Our finalists are:
Anne Morton

Bobby Thornton

Pierette Melville

Vi Penman


The 2019 Heart of Gold sponsored by @AmazonUK goes to Bobby Thornton – Congratulations Bobby #DunfCommChamps


Next up this evening is the Charity Champion of the Year.

In the running we have:


Contact the Elderly volunteers –

EATS Rosyth

Fife Housing Association

Lorna Ward

Nordoff Robbins

Queen Margaret Hospice Garden Group


Contact the Elderly volunteers take the win of Charity Champion of the Year! #DunfCommChamps


The next category is our Live Music Award. In the running are:
Between the Lines


Steve James

Sunset Spirit


Very tough category to judge but there can only be one winner.

The Live Music Award goes to Steve James – well done Steve! #DunfCommChamps


Next up this evening is Youth Community Champion sponsored by @FifeCouncil.

Our finalists are:
Caelyn Fraser

Morgan MacGregor

Pizza Night Teens at EATS Rosyth

St Columbas High S6 Students


The Youth Community Champion sponsored by @FifeCouncil goes to Morgan MacGregor.

Congrats Morgan!



It’s time to announce the winner of the Young Enterprise Champion of the Year sponsored by @TechnipGroup.

Our finalists were:

Liam Nardone

Soapy Pawz


The Young Enterprise Champion of the Year sponsored by @TechnipGroup goes to Liam Nardone!



Moving on to Community Champion of the Year.

Here’s our finalists:
EATS Rosyth

Pierette Melville

Queen Margaret Hospice Garden Group

William Rutherford


Congratulations to Queen Margaret Hospice Garden Group on winning Community Champion of the Year #DunfCommChamps


Sporting Champion the Year is about to be announced.

Our finalists are:

Cara Smyth

Craig James Morgan

Dunfermline Rugby Club Under 13’s

Kelty Hearts Community Club & Craig Reynolds

Michael Mellon


The winner for Sporting Champion of the Year goes to Craig James Morgan!

Congratulations Craig!



We’ve also had three of our other finalists in the Live Music Award performing on stage before and during dinner.

Singer-songwriter Steve James, Foreignfox and The Sunset Spirit have all impressed the audience with their performances.

Well done guys.


Our host for the evening is David Farrell, one of Scotland’s best-loved presenters who has a wealth of live broadcast and event experience.

Following on from an impressive 10-year career in radio as Romeo, and host of STV’s Live at Five – which won an RTS Scotland Award of Best Daytime Programme – David is currently entertainment reporter at BBC Scotland for The Nine and The Edit.


We’re now going to take a break for dinner.

Before the first awards were revealed we had local Dunfermline band Between The Lines – one of our four live music award finalists – perform on stage.

They delivered an excellent performance – well done guys.


Next up is our Little Champion of the Year sponsored by @canvasholidays.

Our little champion finalists are:

Alfie Thomson

Cameron Urquhart

Michael and Charlotte Gartshore


It was far too hard for our judges to pick just one winner – Alife, Cameron, Michael AND Charlotte are all our Little Champion of the Year 2019 #DunfCommChamps


Our second category of the evening is Champion Teacher of the Year.

Our finalists are:

Gordon Williamson

Lorraine Taggart Bristow


The winner of Champion Teacher of the Year is Gordon Williamson. Congrats!

Lorraine Taggart Bristow takes home a commendation for Champion Teacher of the Year


We are kicking off tonight’s @dunfermlinep Community Champion Awards with Entrepreneurial Award sponsored by @oraarchitects

Our finalists are:

Cameron Young Magic

Claire Nicholson – Happy Earth Place

Flower Pixies

Rush Dance Wear

The Entrepreneurial Award sponsored by @oraarchitects goes to Claire Nicholson – Happy Earth Place

Congratulations Claire!


Guests are set to arrive at 6.30pm before the event gets underway at 7pm.

It’s one of the biggest nights on the West Fife calendar, so join me later on and I’ll keep you updated all night.


The evening includes a sparkling drinks reception, three-course meal, entertainment from local talent and live music and the awards presentation.


For one night, our champions from sport, business, charity, music, schools and everyday life will swap their cause for the limelight of the stage and deservedly take the plaudits for their achievements from those they have helped and benefitted the most – their local community.


The fifth annual ceremony, being held in the Glen Pavilion, celebrates all the positives in our community and recognises the achievements and tireless endeavours undertaken every day by amazing individuals in West Fife.