The Glasgow Times

Community Champion Awards


The Glasgow Times Community Champion Awards have been rewarding locals who make Glasgow a better place to live for 16 years. The awards go right to the heart of communities across the city, from the north east, south and north west, before bringing the area finalists together at the end of the year for an overall, city-wide celebration. The 2023 awards took place on Tuesday, December 5 at the Glasgow City Chambers.

So far, more than 1,500 community champions have been recognised as finalists and winners. Our community champions are recognised across nine categories to ensure that local heroes of all types are identified. The range of categories, paired with our area-by-area approach, give the awards a unique ability to reach and reward those whose efforts may otherwise go unnoticed.

All photos from the event can be viewed in the the gallery above.



Entries are now closed.


Tuesday, December 5


Glasgow City Chambers

2023 Winners

Team Award

The Croft Visitor Centre at HMP Barlinnie Prison – Team Croft –

Individual Award

Derek Reid – LD Let’s Talk

Public Service Award

Surviving Stalking Podcast – Karen and Shelcy – Action Against Stalking

Uniformed Services Award

GRI Neonatal Nursing Team

Young Award

Summer Weir and Farrah McIvor – The Pavilion

Senior Award

The Rapping Grannies of Possilpark

Health & Wellbeing Award

PEEK Project

Sports Award

Disability Sports Camp – Pepass & Disability Sport Glasgow Inclusive holiday programme

School of the Year Award

Café Culture – Scotstoun Primary School Parents

Editor’s Award

Bridget Crossan & Cath Milligan – Castlemilk Souper-heroes

Lord Provost’s Special Recognition Award

Jack and Kallum – North United Communities


The Glasgow Times would like to thank our 2023 sponsors for their support.


Raise your profile nationally by sponsoring our awards.

Sponsorship of the awards is a unique opportunity to promote your brand and help us reward Glasgow’s local heroes. If you would like more information on the opportunities available, please contact Stephen Laughlin, Senior Events Manager on 0141 302 6050 or