New judges help find Scottish society’s heroes in our 10th annual awards

An expert panel of judges is preparing to assess entries for the 10th annual Herald Society Awards, in partnership with Social Work Scotland (SWS).

Jane Devine, SWS Director, will join this year’s team choosing the most outstanding achievers in the public and third sectors. She will be joined by professor Jennifer Davidson, executive director of the Institute for Inspiring Children’s futures, Inspector Iain Murray, lead on desistance through employability at the Violence Reduction Unit, Val Surgenor, partner at MacRoberts and Matt Forde, head of service at NSPCC Scotland.

They will team up with returning judges, consultant obstetrician and gynaecologist Dr Mary Hepburn OBE, Andrew Horne, director of operations at Addaction, and Herald Social Affairs Correspondent Stephen Naysmith who will chair the panel.

Susan Taylor of SWS, sponsors of the Partnership Award said “The best outcomes for people can only be achieved when communities, professionals, carers and families work together.”

Eamonn Connolly, director at EVH – Supporting Social Employers, which is sponsoring the Unsung Hero Award, said “EVH is delighted to help uncover more of those heroes who keep our communities glued together – unsung maybe, but certainly not unappreciated.”

Andy Sinclair, head of legacy at the Scottish Government, sponsors of the Legacy 2014 Award, said: “We anticipate a high calibre of applications from organisations continuing to deliver lasting benefits to their local communities, three years on from the Games.”

Ian Welsh, Chief Executive of Health and Social Care Alliance Scotland, sponsors of the Health and Social Care Integration Award said, “The award celebrates the vital role and relationship between the public and the third sectors in delivering Scotland’s health and social care.” Macroberts, are supporting the Young People’s Project of the Year. Partner Val Surgenor said “We are passionate about children’s initiatives that evoke creativity, inspire new ways of thinking and encourage children to thrive.”

The entry deadline is September 6th and you can enter via The awards ceremony will take place on November 1st in Glasgow. For more information contact Lyndsay Wilson at 0141 302 7407 or