The Impartial Reporter

Community Champion Awards


The Impartial Reporter were thrilled to host the inaugural year of the Impartial Reporter Community Champion Awards in association with Encirc.

It was a momentous occasion that marked the beginning of a tradition to honour and celebrate the exceptional contributions of community champions throughout Fermanagh and South Tyrone. The Community Champions campaign and event reached out to the hearts of people in the local communities by acknowledging the courage and selfless acts undertaken to enrich the lives of others. The landmark occasion lays the foundation for a tradition that will honour community champions for years to come.

There were 12 awards presented at the awards ceremony on Thursday, June 27th 2024. Look out for the launch of the 2025 event!


Thursday, March 28, 2024


Thursday, June 27, 2024




Lough Erne Resort

2024 Shortlist & Winners

Business Award – sponsored by Encirc

  • Balcas
  • Charlie’s Bar – ★Winner
  • Mark Edwards, Enniskillen Taste Experience
  • Rooney’s Gift Store

Sporting Champion of the Year – sponsored by Belmore Court & Motel

  • Clare Morris, Enniskillen Lakelanders
  • Clogher Valley Rugby Football Club
  • Ernie Conlon, Fermanagh Supercup
  • Gaye Conway, Enniskillen Royal Boat Club
  • St. Aidan’s High School, Derrylin
  • The Oisín McGrath Foundation – ★Winner

Champion Teacher of the Year – sponsored by The Print Factory

  • Adele Kerr, Enniskillen Integrated Primary School
  • Eimer Maguire, St. Mary’s Primary School – ★Winner
  • Gary McDevitt, Enniskillen Royal Grammar School

Youth Community Champion of the Year

  • Grace Jackman, Mount Lourdes Grammar School – ★Winner
  • Owen McKinley, Enniskillen Royal Grammar School – ★Winner

Little Champion of the Year – sponsored by Flynn Flooring & Bathrooms

  • Mennah Abdalqader – ★Winner
  • Nina He – ★Winner
  • Enniskillen Model Primary School RotaKids – ★Winner

Green Champion of the Year – sponsored by Mannok

  • Ashley Robinson, Curlew Project, Lough Erne Landscape Partnership
  • Diana McChesney, Fermanagh FREE-cycle
  • Florence Court Gardeners
  • Mary Polizzi, Dooletter Wildlife Rescue
  • Supriya Foster, South West College – ★Winner

Live Music Award

  • Bernie McNulty
  • Laytha
  • Maggie Maguire
  • The Tumbling Paddies – ★Winner

Charity Champion of the Year

  • Clare Donohoe, Pulmonary Fibrosis NI
  • Enniskillen Ladies Circle
  • Geraldine Corrigan, Friends of the Cancer Centre – ★Winner
  • Martin Ansfield (posthumously), Pulmonary Fibrosis NI
  • Mary McCann, Fermanagh Women’s Aid
  • Susan Doyle, Fermanagh Down Syndrome Support Group

Heart of Gold – sponsored by Mental Wealth International

  • Annie Carson
  • Annette Murphy
  • Genevieve Irvine
  • John Shades
  • Noelle McAlinden – ★Winner

Community Champion of the Year (Group) – sponsored by Encirc

  • Girls Allowed, Newtownbutler
  • JustUs
  • Save Our Acute Services (SOAS)
  • The Kindness Postbox – ★Winner

Community Champion of the Year – sponsored by Encirc

  • Christine Duffy
  • Jenna Robinson
  • Michele Rooney
  • Natasha Dane
  • Shelley Cowan – ★Winner
  • Siobhan O’Brien

Editors Award

  • Jonny Gibson (Posthumously)


The Impartial Reporter would like to thank our 2024 sponsors for their support.


Raise your profile by sponsoring our event

If you would like more information on the opportunities available, please contact Nina Holmes, Head of Events,