Sunday Herald awards back to celebrate Scotland’s thriving culture scene

THE Sunday Herald’s inaugural Culture Awards was a star-studded event, with Outlander star Sam Heughan and Game of Thrones actor Kate Dickie appearing on the red carpet.

Now Scotland’s ‘Cultural Oscars’ event is back again in 2017 in association with Edinburgh Napier University to celebrate the country’s thriving culture scene and achievements of our musicians, visual artists, designers and writers.

There are 15 categories, recognising artists, venues and events. Some of the awards up for grabs include Best Cultural Moment award, Best Live Performance award, Best Performing Arts Venue and Best Actor.

The panel of expert judges, chaired by Sunday Herald editor Neil Mackay, will include photographer David Eustace, author and playwright Alan Bissett, Rhona Corscadden, senior event manager at EventScotland and Pauline Miller Judd, dean of the School of Arts and Creative Industries at Napier University.

And the winners will be recognised at a glittering awards evening taking place on Thursday, 13 July at SWG3 in Glasgow.

Pauline Miller Judd, dean of the School of Arts and Creative Industries at Napier University, which is title partnering with the Sunday Herald for this year’s awards, said: “As a key provider of cultural education in Scotland, the School of Arts and Creative Industries at Napier University is delighted to partner with the Sunday Herald on the 2017 Culture Awards to recognise the quality and diversity of cultural activity and celebrate the range of talent in Scotland from newcomers to seasoned professionals.”

EventScotland, part of VisitScotland’s Events Directorate, is sponsoring the Cultural Event Award. Paul Bush OBE, VisitScotland’s Director of Events, said: “Scotland has a vibrant and world-leading events sector and it is wonderful there is an awards ceremony recognising the people who drive this success.”

Entries are free and are now open for nominations from the cultural industry in Scotland to tell us why they should be crowned winners for 2017.

To enter visit

The entry deadline is Wednesday, May 31, 2017 with all applications being completed online.