We are celebrating the achievements of the Scottish Agriculture sector at The Scottish Agriculture Awards 2023 in partnership with AgriScot, RHASS and The Scottish Farmer on Thursday, October 26 at the Crowne Plaza, Glasgow Central.

The evening includes access to our drinks reception, 3 course meal, entertainment, official event programme, evening networking and the awards presentation.

For information on how to purchase tickets or tables please email nina.holmes@newsquest.co.uk


Various – please see the FAQ


Thursday, October 26, 2023

Cammy Wilson


Cammy is a 33 year old sheep farmer from Kilmarnock, Ayrshire. He currently runs 1000 ewes over seasonal lets and has ambitions of owning his own farm one day. To help him reach that goal he also carries out a lot of contract work as a sheep shearer and pregnancy scanner….. and now apparently an awards host.

He is best known for his social media work as The Sheep Game where he documents his life along with his partner Lizzy and their two boys Jock and Angus. He has grown his YouTube channel to over 330,000 subscribers and after sending and email to Landward asking for a job he managed to get himself a regular spot on the show.

Cammy is a real champion of farming in Scotland and we are delighted to have him on board to present the inaugural Scottish Agriculture awards.

2023 Winners & Finalists

Adviser of the Year

  • Eric Anderson, Scottish Agronomy
  • Hazel Laughton, SAC Consulting
  • Heather Wildman, Saviour Associates Ltd – Winner

Animal Health Provider of the Year

  • Clyde Vet Group – Winner
  • East of Scotland Farmers Ltd
  • Tinto Farm Vets

Arable Farm of the Year – sponsored by soilessentials

  • Savock Farms – Winner
  • Robert Reid & Son, Gourdie Farm
  • Rosskeen Farms

Best Agroforestry Award – sponsored by Field & Forest Machinery LTD

  • The Woolly Pig Company – The future forest company at Brodoclea Farm Woodland
  • W. Laird & Sons, Netherurd Home Farm – Winner

Dairy Farm of the Year Award – sponsored by GEA

  • Coopon Carse Farm – Winner
  • Linns Farm
  • Westertown Farm, Mackie’s of Scotland

Diversified Farm of the Year – sponsored by SAC Consulting

  • Glenkiln Farm – Winnner
  • J W Smith Byres Farm
  • Sheepdog School, Ardros Farms

Machinery Dealer of the Year

  • C T Scott LTD – Winner
  • Netherton Tractors Ltd
  • Paterson ATV

Scotch Beef Farm of the Year – sponsored by ABP

  • Carriston Farm
  • Carskiey Farm
  • Firm of T Hodge, Rulesmains Farm – Winner

Sheep Farm of the Year – sponsored by Thorntons Law

  • Farmstock Genetics
  • Roan Farm
  • Windshiel Farm – Winner

Supplier of the Year

  • Jack Lamb Agricultural Merchant
  • KW Feeds
  • Redpath Tyres – Winner

Sustainable Farm of the Year – sponsored by Polycrub

  • Edinvale Farms
  • J Rennie & Sons (Farmers) Ltd, Gask Farm
  • R Mitchell & Sons, Whitriggs Farm – Winner

Unsung Hero of the Year – sponsored by Virgin Money

  • John Copland

Young Farmer Initiative of the Year

  • SAYFC – Development and Wellbeing Committee, Thrive Mental Wellbeing App Pilot – Winner
  • Nicola Wordie
  • Wallace Currie

Champion of Champions 2023 – sponsored by ScottishPower Renewables

  • Glenkiln Farm


Who can enter?

The awards are open to all companies, individuals, organisations and farms operating in Scotland. Nominations can be made directly from the businesses or farms or from a third-party. If you are nominating on the behalf of someone else, you must seek their approval beforehand.

What is the deadline for entries?

For the 2024 awards entry deadlines please contact nina.holmes@newsquest.co.uk

How much does it cost?

It is free to enter. Those shortlisted will also receive two complimentary tickets to attend the awards ceremony. We ask that if you enter, you are able to attend the evening of the awards

How does the judging process work?

The judging process will involve farm visits for our farm of the year categories. The other categories will be put to a panel of independent experts who will decide on the shortlist and winners for 2023. The judges’ decision will be final, and no correspondence will be entered, or feedback provided.

When will the shortlist be announced?

The shortlist will be listed in The Scottish Farmer early September.

When will the winners be announced?

The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony taking place on Thursday, October 26 at Crowne Plaza, Glasgow Central. More information on the event and tickets can be found in the ‘The Awards Ceremony’ section above.

What do I do if I have more questions?

We are happy to answer any additional questions you may have regarding the entry process or event. Please contact Head of Events, Nina Holmes on 0141 302 6138 or nina.holmes@newsquest.co.uk with all enquires.